Summer Programme at The Kent Mining Museum

We have lots of fun and creative activities planned for the summer holidays from the 26th July-27th August and would love to welcome you all to come and take part.

26th July- 4th August- Fantastic Fossils

9th August- 18th August- Reuse, Recycle, Reinvent

23rd August-25th August- Marvelous Mining Makers

So why not take part in our popular Crafternoon sessions, make your own zine inspired by protest, create your very own song and get an exclusive photography tutorial all at The Kent Mining Museum, Betteshanger Country Park.

Please check out our programme and book your slot.

Crafternoon

We are delighted to bring back by popular demand our Crafty Crafternoon sessions where participants can make their very own Mining related craft item including a Miners’ Safety Lamp, Pit Checks, Banners, Fossil making and more. The session runs for 90 minutes and is £5 plus an admin fee.

  • Tuesday 26 July 14:00-15:30
  • Wednesday 27 July 11:00-12:30
  • Thursday 28 July 14:00-15:30
  • Tuesday 2 August 14:00-15:30
  • Wednesday 3 August 11:00-12:30
  • Thursday 4 August 14:00-15:30
  • Tuesday 9 August 14:00-15:30
  • Wednesday 10 August 11:00-12:30
  • Thursday 11 August 14:00-15:30
  • Tuesday 16 August 14:00-15:30
  • Wednesday 17 August 11:00-12:30
  • Thursday 18 August 14:00-15:30
  • Tuesday 23 August 14:00-15:30
  • Wednesday 24 August 11:00-12:30
  • Thursday 25 August 14:00-15:30

Tickets available here.

Rag Wreath Workshop with Made in Ashford. Monday 15 August 10:00-11:30 and 12:00-13:30.

Join Danielle & Melissa to transform a pile of fabric scraps into a gorgeous summer rag wreath. We will be choosing fabric that has been saved from landfill and is waiting for you to give it a new lease of life as a beautiful decoration. In this workshop we will be using sharp scissors to cut our chosen fabric and then looping it over a frame to form our wreath in any fabrics and colours you like.

Monday 15 August. The session runs for 90 minutes from 10:00-11:30am and 12:00-13:30.

Tickets available here.

Ages 6+.

 

Portrait Workshop with Thom Kofoed. Friday 19 August 11:00-13:00

A fun two hour portrait workshop with portrait artist Thom Kofoed (seen on Sky Arts Portrait Artist of the Year). Exploring charcoal & grayscale chalks, learning various charcoal techniques and culminating in a life drawing class with a real life Miner.

Suitable for children 7+.

We will be using art materials that can get messy, so make sure to come suitably dressed for messy activity.

Friday 19 August 11:00-13:00.

Tickets available here.

Music with Oliver Seagar inspired by Test Dept. Sunday 21 August 14:00-16:00

Come and join us and make music from found objects, inspired by the amazing “industrial” band Test Dept who collaborated with many miners from the Kent Coalfield in the 1980s.

In this session you will learn how to make music in a creative space and be inspired by the legacy of the Kent Coalfield at The Kent Mining Museum.

Suitable for children 7+.

Sunday 21 August 14:00-16:00. 

Tickets available here.

Zine making with Rebecca Strickson. Friday 26 August 11:00-13:00.

We are very excited to welcome back to The Kent Mining Museum the amazing Rebecca Strickson. Following from Rebecca’s very popular banner making workshops earlier in the year Rebecca will be running a zine making workshop exploring the theme of protest and each participant will learn skills and tips and an opportunity to make their very own zine.

The session runs for 2 hours and is £12 plus an admin fee.

Friday 26 August 11:00-13:00.

Tickets available here